30.9 C
Port Harcourt
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Diri, Betsy Obaseki, others bag Sportsville Award 

by Mitchelle Uzorka

The Governor of Bayelsa State, Senator Douye Diri, Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, wife of Edo State Governor, Mrs. Betsy Obaseki and former Director General (DG) of the defunct National Sports Commission (NSC), Dr. Patrick Ekeji, and 14 other sports personalities and corporate organisations have been listed for the 2023 Sportsville Special Recognition Award.


The Award Night is scheduled to hold on Saturday, February 4, 2023 at Lagos Country Club, Ikeja GRA, Lagos.


Other winners of the individual awards include, the General Overseer of Mountain of Fire and Miracle Ministries (MFM), Dr. D.K Olukoya, basketball guru, Col. Sam Ahmedu (rtd), Proprietor of Naija Ratels, Paul Edeh and president of HS Group, Mr. Taiye Ige.


Others are Chairman of high flying Remo Stars Football Club, Kunle Soname, Initiator of Lagos WomenRun, Mrs. Tayo Popoola, foremost golf sponsor, Otunba Olusola Adekanola and Nigeria’s new sensation in sports commentary, Emmanuel Etim.


Wrestling Coach to the last Commonwealth Games in Tokyo, Purity Aku and top indigenous kits manufacturer, Tunji Brown, popularly known as Owu Sports, also made the list.


The late Brown Ebewele (Jujuman), who passed on last year, will receive a posthumous award. In the corporate worId, the duo of Zenith Bank and Supersports will be honoured for their roles in sports development and sponsorship in Nigeria.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles