27.1 C
Port Harcourt
Thursday, June 13, 2024


By Blessing Bliss Chukwuma

The much anticipated polls to select and elect a new Management Committee of the Port Harcourt Polo Club ended yesterday the 9th of July 2023. After a fresh election was held successfully and winners of the poll were announced.

Recall that the Election was scheduled to hold some weeks ago but was canceled on the Election Day due to brawls, protests and chaos by some contestants and members of the Port Harcourt Polo Club.

But thanks to the timely intervention of the Security Agencies and the Chairman Board of Trustees, king Diette Spiff peace was restored.

It was revealed to our correspondent Bliss, that the trouble started when the Electoral Committee for the polls could not meet the requirements of the Club’s Constitution by publishing the list of the contestants for various posts.

King Diette Spiff whilst addressing the protesting members and contestants immediately suspended the Electoral Committee and Appointed an Emergency Management Committee to take charge of the club pending when a proper fresh election of new management committee takes place.

Stating that the Emergency Committee is expected to function for 21 days during which the Electoral Processes would be reorganized and fresh polls held to elect new members to carry on the club’s management according to the laws of the clubs.

Following this, a fresh election was held yesterday the 9th of July, 2023 and the winners of the fresh polls are:
Ebi Diriya (president),
Henry Agbodjan (vice president),
Kester Buzugbe (secretary),
Victor Ojum ( Treasurer),
Sotonye Diamond ( social member),
Dave Agwalla (security member),
Isaac Oguchi ( Bar and kitchen),
Austin Onimisi ( House and ground member),
David Sikpa ( pony welfare),
Nnene Anochie ( membership secretary).

These newly elected members will run the affairs of the club for the next year.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles